Skip to content ↓


Welcome to the Governors' section

Burrowmoor Primary Academy is a member of The Diamond Learning Partnership Trust (DLPT): an academy trust which was set up in the year of the Queen's Diamond Jubilee. The Trust is currently made up: Middlefield, Great Staughton, Kimbolton, Winhills and Round House Primary Academies in St Neots; Thomas Eaton, Glebelands, Burrowmoor, Gorefield, Murrow and Leverington Primary Academies in Fenland; Braybrook in Peterborough; Roman Way and King James' Academy in Hertfordshire. This Trust is managed by a Board of Directors and each school has a Local Governing Body.

The Board of Governors exists to:

  • Put in place the long term vision and strategic direction of the school
  • Monitor the educational performance of the school and its pupils
  • Oversee the financial performance of the school and ensure that money is well spent

Our role is to ensure that Burrowmoor Primary Academy constantly and consistently delivers on its visions and values: essentially, to ensure that every child achieves the highest possible standards through our relentless focus on high-quality teaching and learning. Further information about the school’s visions and values can be found on the website.

The board of governors also oversees admission, staff employment and buildings management.

Our Local Governing Body has members elected or appointed as governors on behalf of the Trust. They are made up of parents, staff and the local community and they serve a term of four years. Governors can be re-elected/re-appointed at the end of their term for a further four year period. The Local Governing Body meets once each term.

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.

Local Governing Body

Chair of LGB

Mr Andrew Smith

Head Teacher

Mrs Ruth Bailey

Safeguarding & SEND Governor

Mr James Harfield

Community Governors

Mr Michael Robinson

Mrs Gill Thomas

Parent Governors

Mr Greg Hanrahan

Mr Marcus Phillips

Staff Governors

Mr James Harfield

Miss Sarah Mee

Clerk to the Governors


A Register of Business and Pecuniary Interests is maintained and is available to view on request at the Academy office.

Diamond Learning Partnership Trust:
Please refer to the website for further information: